This section explains how to add, edit, activate, deactivate, delete users and also to manage the permissions and assign users to groups in the Bold BI.
Users can only be added/edited/deleted by the users, belonging to the
System Administrator group.
New users can be added to the Bold BI individually or in bulk using CSV import
To add new users to the Bold BI, click
New User and then
Add User from the User Management page.
Add User dialog will be shown as like in the image below.
Fill the form with the email address, username, first name, and last name(optional) then click
NOTE: An email address is mandatory only in the Email required mode. Users created with passwords in the Bold BI application will be considered local users.
New account will be created for the user and an account activation email will be sent to the email address with activation link to activate the Bold BI account.
The activation link sent to the user will be valid only for 2 days and if the user have not activated within the 2 days, a new activation link can be sent to the user from the user edit page. Check Activate Users section for more details.
The account will be in inactive status till the user activates the account from the activation email.
To add users with the password, you have to set the Account Activation Mode to
Automatic in the
Accounts settings page.
New User and then
Add User from the User Management page.
Add User dialog box will be shown as like in the following image.
The password must meet the following requirements:
It must contains,
Add the existing UMS user to the site using the
Add User dialog.
If you enter the email address of the user who is already present in UMS, the remaining fields will be auto-filled and disabled as follows.
Verify the user information and click
To know how to add user in UMS refer here
To automate the process of adding large number of users to a Bold BI, you can download the CSV template file and add the users in it and then import the file.
You can navigate to the user management page by clicking the
User Management dropdown under the
Admin menu as follows.
NOTE: The section will explain how to import the users from a CSV file, which can be downloaded from the following location in the Bold BI application. Users created with passwords in the Bold BI application will be considered local users.
New User, click
Import from CSV.
The first row in the CSV template represents the column heading. Bold BI assumes that the data from the second line in the file represents the user.
We have the following columns are considered as mandatory in the downloaded CSV file.
Follow the below steps to add users using the CSV template
Download CSV template.
Add users in the CSV file.
Save the CSV file and upload it.
Once the file is uploaded the user details will be shown in the grid as like in the below image.
Import Users to import users from the CSV file.
Bold BI will import the chosen users in the background as a job and a confirmation dialog will be displayed as shown in the following figure.
You can view the status of the current import by clicking the View Status button in the above confirmation dialog and you will be navigated to the below bulk import job details page where you can view the details of the current import job. Please learn more about the Bulk Import Result page here.
User profile details can be edited from the users edit page as shown in the below image.
Username, first name, last name, email, phone number and the login password for the user can be edited by the user belonging to the ‘System Administrator’ group.
Users can be removed from the particular site of Bold BI when the user is no longer required in the site. Users can be removed from the user management page or from the edit user page. Even though user removed from the site, the user will be available in the UMS.
Remove User icon to remove the user from the user management page.
Remove User from the menu as shown in the image to remove the user from the user management page.
Users can be deactivated at any time. Once deactivated, the user cannot log into the Bold BI.
Deactivate User from the menu as shown in the image,
Inactive users can be activated by clicking on the
Resend Activation Code button in the user edit page.
This will send an account activation email to the user with an activation link to activate the account and again this activation link will be valid only for 2 days.
If the user has not received the activation email within 2 days or missed to activate the account, the
System Administrator has to resend the activation email to the user.
The administrator can change the user’s password from Tenant management site as follows below,
Go to the UMS site by clicking profile as follows.
Users option to manage the users.
Click Name of the user to change the password. Click update button once the password entered.
Manage Permissions page for the user can be accessed from any one of the following pages.
Actions in the user management grid context menu and select the
Manage Permissions option.
Manage Permissions on the user profile page.
In the manage permissions grid, you can find the permissions assigned directly to the user and the permissions that the user inherited from the groups assigned.
Add Permission to add permissions to the user.
All Resource or
All Settings item type.
Add to add the framed permission to the user.
You can also select multiple scopes and entities to assign multiple permissions. Please visit Manage Permissions for more information on how to add and manage permissions.
Users can be assigned to one or many groups from the user management page.
Users can be assigned to an existing group.
A new group can also be created at this time and the selected users can be assigned to the new group.
NOTE: All the users in the group will have the permissions of assigned group.